Wednesday, February 8

Miniatures (A Sequence Of Fifty-One Tiny Masterpieces) (1980)

"... Originally issued in 1981, Miniatures is a concept compilation album that is certain to delight the listener on a multitude of fronts simultaneously. Conceived in 1980 by Morgan Fisher (erstwhile keyboardist for Mott the Hoople) as a means of addressing the scope of music and musicians that he loved but lacked time enough to release, Miniatures draws from an array of artists whose submissions exist within the strict framework of a 60-second maximum track length. The pieces wriggle excitedly in their rapid and unrelenting succession, sequenced with insight sufficient to create an infinitely curious netherworld. ..."
Discogs, amazon: Miniatures One + Two
YouTube: john white - scene de ballet, Dave Vanian - Night time, Ralph Steadman - Sweetest Love (Lament After A Broken Sashcord On A Theme Of John Donne), Band One: 1/1. ollie halsall & john halsey / bum love 1/2. the residents / we're a happy family + bali ha'i 1/3. roger mcgough / the wreck of the hesperus 1/4. morgan fisher / green and pleasant 1/5. john otway / mine tonight, Morgan Fisher Story - Interview by Iain McNay - 2008